Awards Announced in Texas Society of Sculptors 9th Annual Summer Show

The Texas Society of Sculptors has announced the award winners in their ninth annual summer show, which is hosted by the Georgetown Public Library and funded by sponsorship from the City of Georgetown Arts & Culture Board. Seventy pieces were entered in this year’s exhibit, which will remain in the library until September 23.

The current exhibit can be viewed all the hours the library is open: Monday-Thursday 9 a.m. – 8 p.m., Friday 9 a.m. – 6 p.m., Saturday 9 a.m. – 5 p.m., Sunday noon – 5 p.m.

The Georgetown Arts and Culture Board donated $1,800 for cash awards.

Christina Rudofsky, staff member with Round Rock Arts, was the exhibition awards juror for this year’s competition. Awards, which were announced at the artist reception July 17 in the library, are listed below.

John Mark Luke and Thunderbirds, 2016 First Place Award

Thunderbirds by John Mark Luke (mixed media; natural tree branches, eps styrofoam, steel)

Lady News by Vera Smiley Second Place Award

Lady News by Vera Smiley (red paperclay, acrylic paint, collage, epoxy, wood)


Fast Break by Michael Synatzske Third Place Award

Fast Break by Michael Synatzske (bronze)


System by Jonathan Sanders Honorable Mention Award–Mixed Media

System by Jonathan Sanders (steel, concrete, tar, found object)


The Gift by Dan Pogue Honorable Mention Award–Metal

The Gift by Dan Pogue (bronze)


Seven Sisters by Bob Ragan Honorable Mention Award–Stone

Seven Sisters by Bob Ragan (Florence white limestone)


Librarians’ Choice

Thunderbirds by John Mark Luke (mixed media; natural tree branches, eps styrofoam, steel)

The library staff makes the choice for one of the awards each year. This sculpture, which also took first place in the overall competition and is pictured above, captured the library staff’s imagination.


Sculpture Demonstrations Sept. 17

Sculpture demonstrations will be held on Saturday, Sept. 17 from 1-3 pm in the library Lobby. The demonstrations are a come-and-go event, free and open to the public. Participating sculptors will be:

Frank Maglio (metal and stone)
Dar Richardson (clay)
Joe Kenney (bronze)
Mary Griffin (bronze)
Bill Stuewe (wood)

For more information, call the Georgetown Public Library at (512) 930-3551. The library is at 402 W. Eighth Street, Georgetown, Texas.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email